Home » Goals » Thesis update: August 7th, 2017

Thesis update: August 7th, 2017

Thoughts from last week:

Jeremiah 25 is where the Hebrew Masoretic Text (MT) and the Greek Septuagint (LXX) part ways for a while.  (The Aramaic Targum follows the Hebrew version).  The first 13 verses are the same.

Jer 25:12 ‘Then it will be when seventy years are completed I will punish the king of Babylon and that nation,’ declares the Lord, ‘for their iniquity, and the land of the Chaldeans; and I will make it an everlasting desolation. 13 I will bring upon that land all My words which I have pronounced against it, all that is written in this book which Jeremiah has prophesied against all the nations.

At this point, the Septuagint then has the “oracles against the nations” (which we find in the Hebrew text in chapters 46-51), while the MT continues with verse 14.  Verse 14 doesn’t exist in the LXX.

The LXX does come back in verse 15, however.  But now the LXX is at chapter 32:1 while the MT is still at 25:15.  From here on out, it gets trickier to compare the two, since the the chapter numbers don’t match anymore.  25.15-38 in the MT is 32:1-24 in LXX.  Chapters 26-45 in the MT are chapters 33-51 in the LXX.

I decided to adjust my thesis statement to clarify that I’m using the MT chapter numbers:

Jeremiah chapters 32-38 (as laid out in the Masoretic Text) comprise a continuous, non-chronological narrative sequence, with the rhetorical purpose of aiding the exilic reader to interpret the fall of Jerusalem in chapters 39-40.

Meanwhile, last week I acquainted myself with Mark Roncace’s Jeremiah, Zedekiah, and the Fall of Jerusalem.  In this study, Roncace proposes that Jeremiah 37-44 are two parallel sets of 10 episodes each.  He narrows in on the first set of ten, from 37:1 to 40:6, and explores the “prophet and king” theme.  He then uses intertextual links to compare Jeremiah and Zedekiah to other prophet-king stories in the Bible.  I’ll want to come back to this one in more detail when I’m working through chapters 37 and 38 in my thesis.

Lastly, I also received feedback on chapter 1 of my thesis.  I made a few changes and clarifications as per my reader’s suggestions and resubmitted.

Goals for this week:

  • Outline and begin drafting chapter 2
  • Read through Jeremiah 27 and 28 in Hebrew, Greek and Aramaic
  • Would be nice: do more new research
Leave a Reply

